Christmas is over.

26 Dec

This year’s Christmas wasn’t as special as my previous ones.

Probably because I spent it with just my mom.

(Not that she’s a bad company or anything…)

I guess you can say this year’s Christmas was a very quiet one for me.

(My mom and I did the traditional gift-exchanging, of course)

But, today I began to miss few people.

My Grandma.

She’s the lighthouse in my life.

Her fragile voice always warms my heart when I talk to her on the phone.

The feeling of her warm hand still lingers in my own hand.

I still remember her favorite jokes.

My Dad.

He’s my lifelong fan.

He supports and encourages everything I do.

The sacrifices he has made for me is unbelievable and I will never forget them.

It’s amazing how we haven’t seen each other for 4 years, yet we communicate over the phone as if we see each other everyday.

I still remember how his voice lights up when I call him.

My Sister.

She’s my best friend since I was born.

She is like a second mom to me.

Her existence is like a laughing gas for me. Deadly , yet hilarious.

I’ve abhorred her when I was a kid and wished she was born. Now, I’m grateful she’s in my life because I don’t know what I would do without her.

I guess you can say we both owe each other alot. Just as I was always there for her when she had to let it all out, she was always there for me when I felt so hopeless.

My Aunt.

She always gave me the best hugs I’ve ever had.

When I was little, I didn’t grow up with the most ideal family. We didn’t go on family picnics or have a family picture. ( That doesn’t mean we didn’t like each other haha) We just didn’t spend enough time together as a family.

But when I saw my aunt bestow gifts and so much love to her own children, I realized how fortunate my cousins are.

I guess, you can say my aunt taught me in an indirect way “the power of love”. ( no matter how cliche or cheesy that sounds, it’s true)

Her love for her family has influenced me to do the same to my own.

I’ve gotta admit, I’m doing a quite good job at it too 😉

Other people may be there to help us, teach us, guide us along our path. But the lesson to be learned is always ours.

And those people who have helped, taught  and guided me are the people listed above. Thus, I am forever grateful towards them.

“Family… a group experience of love and support”

Hope everyone had a great christmas and I’m looking forward to next year’s!

Christmas is over but it won’t hurt to enjoy some Christmas songs 🙂

Leave a Reply

