Dear Grandpa

25 Aug

This week was the anniversary of my Grandpa’s death.

My Grandpa passed away due to heart failure.

I was in elementary school when he passed away.

Can’t remember how old I was then…

Wow, time sure has passed by fast.

 

I still remember the day when it all happened.

All my relatives came over to my house for a vacation.

That day, the adults were all huddled together and crying.

They were too busy mourning that they didn’t tell me that my Grandpa passed away that afternoon.

Maybe they wanted to avoid having to tell me about the sudden death.

It didn’t matter because I would have to face it anyways

I still remember my Grandma’s delicate face.

Despite her wrinkles, my Grandma’s face was glowing.

But on that day, her wrinkles seemed to stand out more than usual.

Her face was blotchy from crying. Holding a worn-out handkerchief in her small hands.

I furtively crawled below a nearby desk. I watched everyone around me cry.

As my eyes landed on each crying face, I wondered to myself ” What’s going on?”

When my eyes landed on my Grandma’s face, I couldn’t leave her face.

I went up to my Grandma and gave her a hug.

I didn’t know the reason why she was crying but I still gave her a hug.

My Grandma cried so bitterly on my shoulder.

Soon, I was crying too.

Even though I didn’t know why everyone was crying, I seemed to cry with the same heart as everyone.

I still remember the feeling that day.

I was so choked up that my throat felt so sore.

I only knew of my Grandpa’s death when I saw my Grandpa’s picture on the funeral table.

Tears flowed down my cheeks.

There were so many things I wanted to tell him before he died.

And i still have lots to tell him….

 

Grandpa,

 

I’m sorry for not returning your hug.

I’m sorry for not being the granddaughter I should have been.

I’m sorry for being so ignorant.

I miss the feeling of your beard scratching my cheeks when you hug me.

I miss hearing your laugh.

I miss holding your hand when walking across the road.

I miss the feeling of your pats on my back.

I miss you so much, Grandpa.

I wish I could’ve said bye to you properly before you left me.

Then I could have told you

how much I love you.

One of my biggest regret is never being able to tell you how much I love you.

 

 

I was listening to this while writing this and I kinda got teary…

2 Responses to “Dear Grandpa”

  1. Anon September 18, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    I know how you feel, I feel the exact same way about my grandma.

  2. Anon September 18, 2011 at 4:08 PM #

    I know exactly how you feel, I feel the exact same way about my grandma.

Leave a Reply

